spotlight

2020 election: Key dates for primaries, caucuses and other important campaign events

  • 0
  • 2 min to read
US-NEWS-CAMPAIGN-DATES-SS-24-AU

Tree Colter and her daughters greet Michael Fitts and his son on Election Day 2018. This year's vote is Nov. 5, with several hotly contested propositions on the ballot. (Amanda Voisard/Austin American-Statesman/TNS)

The 2020 presidential campaigning is already well underway.

While voting won't begin until February, the Democratic National Committee has already held four primary debates. Two more will happen over the next couple months — on Nov. 20 and Dec. 19.

Here are the dates of the primaries and caucuses where voters get a say in who will be our next president.

February

Feb. 3: The Iowa caucus, the first caucus in the nation, will be held Monday, Feb. 3.

Feb. 11: The New Hampshire primary, the nation's first primary, will be on Tuesday, Feb. 11

Feb. 22: The Nevada caucus will be on Saturday, Feb. 22.

Feb. 29: The South Carolina primary will be on Saturday, Feb. 29.

March

March 3: On Super Tuesday, March 3, primaries will be held in Alabama, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Maine, Massachusetts, Minnesota, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont and Virginia. March 3 is also the beginning of the Democrats Abroad primary for citizens currently living in other countries.

March 8: The Republican primary in Puerto Rico will be held Sunday, March 8.

March 10: On Tuesday, March 10, nominating contests will be held in Hawaii (Republican), Idaho, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, North Dakota (Democratic) and Washington.

March 12: The Virgin Islands Republican caucus will be held Thursday, March 12.

March 14: On Saturday, March 14, nominating contests will be held in Washington, D.C. (Republican), Guam (Republican), Northern Mariana Islands (Democratic), and Wyoming (Republican).

March 17: On Tuesday, March 17, nominating contests will be held in Arizona (Democratic), Florida, Illinois, Northern Mariana Islands (Republican), and Ohio.

March 24: On Tuesday, March 24, the Georgia primary and the American Samoa Republican caucus will take place.

March 29: Puerto Rico will have its Democratic primary on Sunday, March 29.

US-NEWS-CAMPAIGN-DATES-SS-6-DMT

April

April 4: On Saturday, April 4, nominating contests will be held in Alaska (Democratic), Hawaii (Democratic), Louisiana and Wyoming (Democratic).

April 7: The Wisconsin primary will be held on Tuesday, April 7.

April 28: On Tuesday, April 28, nomination contests will be held in Connecticut, Delaware, Maryland, New York, Pennsylvania and Rhode Island.

May

May 2: The Kansas Democratic primary will happen on Saturday, May 2, as well as the Guam Democratic caucus.

May 5: On Tuesday, May 5, the Indiana primary will be held.

May 12: On Tuesday, May 12, primaries in Nebraska and West Virginia will be held.

June

June 2: On Tuesday, June 2, nominating contests will be held in Washington, D.C. (Democratic), Montana, New Jersey, New Mexico and South Dakota.

June 6: The Virgin Islands Democratic caucus will happen on Saturday, June 6.

July 13-16: The Democratic National Convention will be the week of July 13-16 in Milwaukee.

US-NEWS-CAMPAIGN-DATES-SS-13-LA

Hillary Clinton becomes the first woman to win the nomination for president from a major party in the United States on the final night of the Democratic National Convention at the Wells Fargo Center in Philadelphia on Thursday, July 28, 2016 (Carolyn Cole/Los Angeles Times/TNS)

August

August 24-27: The Republican National Convention will be held August 24-27 in Charlotte, North Carolina.

September

Sept. 29: The first presidential debate will be on Sept. 29.

October

Oct. 7: The vice presidential debate will be on Oct. 7.

Oct. 15: The second presidential debate will be on Oct. 15.

Oct. 22: The third presidential debate will be on Oct. 22.

November

Nov. 3: The general election will be on Tuesday, Nov. 3.

Election Security Microsoft

FILE- In this Nov. 8, 2016, file photo a lone voter fills out a ballot alongside a row of empty booths at a polling station in the Terrace Park Community Building on Election Day in Cincinnati. (AP Photo/John Minchillo, File)

Recommended for you

Load comments